My ambitions for a career change in software

The journey so far.

A bit of background

After 10 years in the same job in warehousing and hitting 30, My life was starting to change. The summer of 2017 i found out that my wife to be( eventually) would be having our first child. Started to think right, do i want to be in the same job forever...? So i started to think about the future, security for my boys and where i want them to be brought up.

Warehouse operator wouldnt be getting me my own house. The only future in there was being there until i retire and crippled.

Wouldn’t be able to afford a fulltime college, and i didn’t really have any idea what i wanted to do.

So i stuck at my job and a promotion came up and then i found out we were expecting our second child. Well I didn’t get the promotion, which was a blessing because i would not of went to night college and achieved the HNC in computing. I ended up getting a B.

CC4010BA-4DFC-42D6-9257-66FDC2A6AF3C.jpeg

Considering in that time i had fulltime job and no sleep with 2 babies 13 months apart, I was pretty chuffed.

I had considered going fulltime to carry on. However, pandemic hit and i could not risk it. So i decided to teach myself for a little while. Then i discovered a course IT career switch which guarentees a job after the course. Cost me about a grand though but it sounded worth it.

After the initial stage of watching videos and quizzes on HTML, CSS and Javascript. It was then onto the codecademy part of the course. The path i have to do is: Full Stack engineer Jquery Php Sql C# In that order. At first i thought wont be too hard. Then after starting to get into the full stack path and javascript it was starting to become really overwhelming.

Now i am challenging myself to the 100 days of code on twitter to finish the full stack part....